• Who We Are

North Dakota Tribal College System (NDTCS)

A unified higher education system for North Dakota’s Tribal colleges


NDTCS advocates and advances culturally focused post-secondary opportunities for Indigenous students to empower students to facilitate change for Tribal Nations and communities.

The North Dakota Tribal College System acts collectively to align, develop, design strategies and advocate for projects that meet the goals of students and communities.

Chartered by federally recognized Tribal governments, North Dakota’s Tribal colleges teach and preserve culture and language as a component of the academic curriculum. Tribal colleges are public, affordable, non-profit post-secondary institutions accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, the same as state post-secondary institutions. Tribal colleges proactively collaborate with the North Dakota University System to enhance students’ academic experience that allows for seamless transfers.

Board of Directors

The North Dakota Tribal College System was the first State Tribal college coalition in the United States. The Board of Directors is comprised of Presidents from each of North Dakota’s five Tribal Colleges.

Dr. Cynthia Lindquist

Dr. Cynthia Lindquist

Dr. Twyla Baker

Dr. Twyla Baker

Dr. Donna Brown

Dr. Donna Brown

Dr. Leander McDonald

Dr. Leander McDonald

Dr. Tomi Kay Phillips

Dr. Tomi Kay Phillips

Cankdeska Cikana Community College

Fort Totten, ND

Dr. Cynthia Lindquist, President

Cankdeska Cikana Community College (CCCC) provides opportunities that lead to student independence and self-sufficiency through academic achievement and the continuation of the Spirit Lake Dakota language and culture. CCCC offers students more than 15 associate degrees and certificate programs including pre-engineering, professional driving training, carpentry, pre-nursing, social work, and early childhood education.

Nueta Hidatsa Sahnish College

New Town, ND

Dr. Twyla Baker, President

Nueta Hidatsa Sahnish College (NHSC) provides a unique educational community founded in culture and spirituality that nurtures holistic student success. Offering more than 20 degree and certificate programs including three, four-year bachelor’s degree programs, NHSC provides specialized coursework in Native American studies, equine studies, agriculture, and sustainable energy.

Sitting Bull College

Fort Yates, ND

Dr. Tomi Kay Phillips, President

Sitting Bull College is guided by Ochethi Sakowin culture, values, and language. Sitting Bull College offers master’s degrees in environmental science, curriculum and instruction, business administration, as well as eight bachelor’s degree programs and 16 associate and certificate programs specializing in arts and humanities, construction technology, math and education, and social and behavioral sciences.

Turtle Mountain Community College

Belcourt, ND

Dr. Donna Brown, President

Turtle Mountain Community College (TMCC) is dedicated to creating an academic environment in which the cultural and social heritage of the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa is woven throughout the curriculum. They offer bachelor’s degrees in Ojibwe culture and language, and education, as well as more than 30 associate and certificate programs including power plant technology, web design, casino management, cyber security, and fitness and wellness.

United Tribes Technical College

Bismarck, ND

Dr. Leander R. McDonald, President

United Tribes Technical College (UTTC) provides quality culturally based post-secondary education to primary students from all four of North Dakota’s tribal Nations.  Students enjoy all the benefits of a small tribal community in an urban environment.  UTTC students are never far from nature and are always connected to others who will nurture their career development. UTTC offers more than 16 bachelor’s and associate degrees and certificates in education, environmental engineering, criminal justice, and graphic design.